Maybelline the Magnum Barbie Mascara review and swatches

cover ohoto

BRAND NAME: Maybelline

PRODUCT: The Magnum Barbie Mascara

PRICE: 399

QUANTITY: 9.2 ml

BRAND CLAIMS: Give your lashes the million bucks effect with the fluffiest volume and longest length this season with the Magnum Barbie Mascara.

  • Bringing the latest trend of ‘Barbie lashes’ straight from the city of New York, Maybelline New York- introduces the Magnum Barbie Mascara to help you get onboard the global makeup trend of the Barbie Doll makeup with perfectly fluffed ‘Doll Lashes’ this summer. It has two different lenghts of fibers to create the most natural fluffy lashes with the most extreme length. So drop your false lashes and head over to the naturals!
  • Here’s why you’ll love it:
  • – Soft flex technology birstles make the lashes look thicker.
  • – It’s waterproof and weightless.
  • – Perfect to create a Barbie Eyes look

LET’S GET STARTED!

Hey everybody, welcome to the world of MakeupManiac. Just a quick intro, my name is Tunjeena and I am a self-proclaimed makeup maniac, hence the name of my blog. Well, today I will be discussing with you guys, my reviews on the Maybelline the Magnum Barbie mascara, which is a new launch. Maybelline as a brand for me is like a makeup jukebox, because every time you walk into a counter, you get to see something new.

I am a lover of mascaras; anything which says “mascara” on it has my heart; the shop assistant did not even have to convince me to buy it. So let us start with the packaging, the tube is quite similar to the original colossal mascara; just that it has pink fonts on it. But, the deal maker is the glossy pink cap which is hard to miss out when you keep it in your stash. Priced at Rs 399, it is not going to burn a hole in your pocket. The plastic wand has a curve to it, which can be concave or convex depending on how you hold it; it succesfully applies the product uniformly to top and bottom lashes. I noticed that it has a lot of fibers, and when I say a lot I mean it! I have never owned an Indian drugstore mascara which such many fibers.

wand picture

 

The formula is in between wet and runny, but nothing that will transfer very easily. I am presuming that it will get dry as the shelf life increases. The actual product is black in colour and quite pigmented.  It’s  lightweight and you do not feel any kind of heaviness on your eyelashes even after a good two coats. The mascara does not flake away even after hours of application.

formula

Coming to the performance, The first time I applied it, it had a slight fume to it which made my eyes tingle but nothing too major; the feeling did not repeat itself the second time around. The mascara gives you decent length but I have used more lengthening mascaras from the drugstore; however, at this price it is pretty good. It also gives you volume, but I believe it is more lengthening than volumising. On the downside, it clumps up the lashes and you might need to comb through them with a lash comb or a clean spoolie brush. I have always maintained that washable variants of mascaras are comparatively less clumpy than the water resistant or waterproof ones.

swatches

The fantastic thing about this mascara is the fact that it holds the curls for up to 6 hours, it did on me at least and boy does it last for very long! And this is where things start to change, yes there mascara is crazy long wearing (it will stay put even after you shower, and this is my first hand experience) but that comes with a price tag. The Magnum Barbie mascara is insanely difficult to remove. If you have used, Maybelline waterproof mascaras you know what I am talking about, but this one is on another level and will not budge come what may!

I tried a cleansing milk and it did not move from its place. Then I pulled out my grape seed oil, hoping that it would to the trick but even after vigorously rubbing the oil on my lashes for a good 2 minutes, only half the product broke down. I had lost all hopes of removing every trace of this pesky mascara when my trustee Avene miscellar lotion came to my rescue.  I held a soaked otton pad on my lashes for a minute and the remnants of the mascara came off, much to my relief. In this process I lost about 10 of my precious eyelashes (it could be more [yes I count them]) which is why I will use this product with caution.

Overall this product is great if you want a long wearing mascara which gives both length and volume and holds the curl for a long time. But at the same time, you will need a bi-phased aka oil based makeup remover to get rid of it completely. To end it all, I would like to say that Maybelline’s The Magnum Barbie Mascara is not a boyfriend with whom you can easily breakup, it is more of a husband, a good, loyal yet pestering one though, which will be with you in life, death and even beyond that if you don’t have the right makeup remover.

To sum it all up here are the pros and cons:

  • Lengthening and volumising jet black mascara which has fibers
  • Interesting wand which covers all the lashes
  • The formula dries up easily
  • Stays on for very, very long and holds the curls giving you “Barbie like” rounded and more open eyes and does not flake away.

Cons

  • It can look clumpy while applying the second coat, so its not separating
  • It is a pain in the a** to remove

For further queries, leave a comment down below and I will get back to you. Remember I always reply. Have a good day 🙂

2 thoughts on “Maybelline the Magnum Barbie Mascara review and swatches

Leave a Reply

