Avene Micellar Lotion Cleanser And Makeup Remover Review

AVENE MICELLAR SOLUTIONBrand name: Avene

Product name: Avene Micellar Lotion

Price: Rs 1200

Quantity: 200ml

Brand claims: Removes impurities and make-up. Your skin is clean, soft and soothed. Rinsing optional. Paraben-free.

How to use:

  • Apply with a cotton pad on your face, eyes and lips.
  • Doesn’t require rinsing.

 

Hey, everybody!

Today I am going to review the Eau Thermale Avene Micellar Lotion. So, us Indian women love to splurge in makeup but we are quite taken aback when asked to spend on makeup remover, because the cleansing milk from Lakme, the ponds cold cream and the Vaseline petroleum jelly, seems to get the job done, right? Well, the truth of the matter is that a good makeup remover will ensure that none of your pores on the facial skin are blocked and your skin can breathe. Proper makeup removal can help in decreasing skin issues like acne, pimple, dullness, sallow skin, etc.  When makeup is completely removed, it allows your skin to breathe and get on right back with the rejuvenation process, and allows your skin care products to work more potently. So! For starters, let’s just realise that makeup removal is as important (if not more) as makeup application.

avene pic 1

Brand Information: Before starting with the product description, let us talk about the brand. Avene is a French pharmacy brand, which curates products, especially for sensitive, skin. After trying a number of products from the brand, I can very safely say that it does what it claims; and if Lisa Eldridge even remotely mentions a brand in her skincare favourites video, you know it’s good.

So now finally, coming to the product, the Avene micellar lotion, has slowly but surely sidelined my favourite Bioderma micellar water makeup remover.  Priced at Rs 1200, this makeup remover can be a little pocket pinching, but is every bit worth the money. Don’t let the “lotion” part in the name fool you; this is very much like the clear water-like makeup remover which removes makeup gently and does not require any rinsing post the removal. So it is safe to say that this is the lazy girl’s (holy-grail) go-to product after a Saturday night, or Sunday morning depending on how wild of a party animal you are.

AVENE PACKAGING

Usage: Soaking a cotton pad with the makeup remover I apply it on my face, and it gently removes every speck of makeup including the long-lasting staining lipsticks. Surprisingly enough it does not sting my eye at all, and honestly, I do have sensitive eyes which water even when you say the word onion, (if you know what I mean). However, the Maybelline mascaras require special attention and take a little more time to be removed. I usually press a soaked cotton pad on my eye and wait for about 30 seconds to break down the product, and that way half the battle is won.

AVENE BLOG

Packaging: It is a 200ml bottle which comes in only one size and has a standard see-through bottle packaging. The bottle that I have has a defect with the flip-open cap; it does not close with a click and isn’t tight, so I have to make sure that I keep it in an upright position all the time so that it does not spill.

ING

Texture, feel and appearance: I believe it is called “lotion” because after the makeup is removed, your skin does not feel like it is stripped off its natural oils; in fact, it feels hydrated (not oily).

Effects/ results: I have combination skin, and I think this product never makes my skin look like an oil slick but gives my dry cheeks some much-needed moisture. If you have oily skin, you won’t even have to apply a moisturizer after using this makeup remover (but I recommend that you do.) Don’t get me wrong, I love my bioderma, but this one is more luxurious in feel and does not dry out my skin like the other micellar waters. Bi-phased formulas, aka oil based makeup removers, are available in India across major brands, but they can block your pores all thanks to the oil they contain. The same cannot be said about the Avene micellar lotion because it is a non-comedogenic, hypoallergenic formula which is designed to suit sensitive skin.

avene blog post

Final Word: I believe this product is great if you have dry, irritated skin, even the oily skinned beauties can enjoy this product because it doesn’t leave behind a greasy residue. Plus, a little goes a very long way, and the dispenser allows you to control the flow of product, so the hefty price tag, is well worth the splurge. The best part is the smell, it is really mild and does not linger; even the most sensitive of noses will not mind the lovely smell which reminds me of babies (no it does not smell like Johnson and Johnson). The end result is non-sticky squeaky skin which has a slight bit of glow (what’s not to love?) This product is steadily moving towards my holy grail-ish list of products and I will continue to use it till I find a better alternative, which I think is easier said than done.

Pros:

  • Smells amazing
  • It is extremely gentle on the skin and does not sting the eyes
  • Leaves the skin moisturised and hydrated
  • Is great for sensitive skin because it is hypoallergenic and non-comedogenic
  • Takes away most make up in a few swipes
  • Will work on all skin types
  • It is paraben free

Cons:

  • The price tag is hefty, hence it is pocket pinching
  • You need a lot of product to remove heavy makeup
  • The cap of the bottle I received did not close securely

Price: Rs 1200 for 200 ml of product

Where to buy it? Nykaa.com

Will I recommend it? Yes, if you are willing to splurge on a makeup remover, this product is well worth a try.

 

Leave a Reply

